On Monday I posted about calling CPS on my uncle. Making that call was one of the hardest, gut-churning, heart-wrenching things I’ve done in my life. But I know it was the right choice. What he did was a felony…I was just scared of the consequences. 

Before making the call I was nervous. But I thought I’d be fine after hanging up the phone. That’s how it normally works with things you’re dreading. 

But I wasn’t. If anything I was worse than before. So I posted about it. Hoping that just typing it (and maybe somebody’s wise words) would settle my stomach and my heart. 

But it didn’t. I woke up Tuesday just as nauseous. People at work asked me what was wrong. I told them. It didn’t help. 

So I called my dad. See, it was my mother’s brother who I called in. I didn’t feel I could talk to her about it, but my dad would understand. So I called him. I explained. He told me that he had been close to doing it himself before. He was curious why I didn’t talk to anyone about it before. But he was glad I had done it, he was proud. He promised to keep me in the loop and then we hung up. 

And finally I felt at peace. I felt like crying, but I was at peace. 

I think what I needed to hear was someone inside the situation say it was okay. That it was right, and that they’d help me take care of it. They were proud. 

I was so scared of telling someone in my family, but the second I did it made it better. 

 

So I’m going to say this. 

If you think there’s a chance that a loved one is being abused, call. It can only hurt NOT to. The woman on the phone with me told me up front that after hearing what I said they would decide how to handle it. In my case they chose to act. I’m glad. 

Just make sure that when you hang up, if you need to tell someone, tell them. Go with your gut. Mine said to tell my family, so I found the right person to tell, and it help. 

Not calling is the worst thing that can be done. Children have the right to be protected, so help protect them. 

And if you need someone to talk to after…just drop a word here. Trust me, I understand. But peace can be found. 

 

I’m very thankful that I no longer regret making the right choice. It was a horrible feeling and I’m glad to be rid of it. I’m proud of myself for protecting my cousins. I love them, and they deserve the best life has to offer. This just might be the only way of giving that to them

-Renee

